The original church dates back as far as 500, with a stone structure built around 800. The tower and aisles were built in the 15th century, with a full restoration in 1853. The church gained full Cathedral status in 1949. More recently, in 2011, the Cathedral had a roof renovation.
The name “Woolos” is an English word derived from Gwynllyw, the 5th-century Welsh saint who first founded a religious establishment on the site.
The Tower, bright interior aisle and wonderful renovated roof
The Cathedral noticeboard and quarterly newsletter
Last weekend, the Cathedral welcomed all as part of an open day – one of the highlights being a tour of the Tower, including a stone spiral staircase, bell-ringing room, and a walk out onto the roof (between heavy showers!). The views of the city are truly stunning, regardless of the weather!
A view from the top of the Tower, looking east towards George Street bridge
(those heavy, dark rain clouds looming in the distance)
Transporter bridge, City bridge and George Street bridge
Royal Gwent Hospital, the top of Stow Hill, towards High Street, and the Civic Centre